Australian Government Regulator Performance Framework

The Government’s Deregulation Agenda is now administered by the Department of Jobs and Small Business, due to the Administrative Arrangements Order introduced on December 20, 2017.

Previously the Deregulation Agenda (earlier known as the Regulatory Reform Agenda) was administered by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

The Office of Best Practice Regulation (OBPR) which administers Regulatory Impact Analysis requirements remains within the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Commonwealth regulators that administer, monitor or enforce regulation are required to implement the Australian Government Regulator Performance Framework (RPF).

Developed following consultation with a range of stakeholders, it consists of six outcomes-based key performance indicators covering reducing regulatory burden, communications, risk-based and proportionate approaches, efficient and coordinated monitoring, transparency, and continuous improvement.

Released in 2014, the RPF is an important part of reducing the burden of unnecessary or inefficient regulation imposed on individuals, business and community organisations. 

The RPF took effect 1 July 2015 — with over 80 Commonwealth regulators assessing their performance under the first reporting period (1 July 2015 - 30 June 2016).

Further information to assist in determining which Commonwealth entities and functions are subject to the RPF is available on the Australian Government's online resource for regulation reform.